Jerry McWilliams, who grew up in the house, remembers many stunning architectural details about the place including the large porch, a widow's walk where he could see downtown, and gorgeous woodwork throughout. The home sat on an immense lot with two outbuildings so there was plenty of room for play. In 1963, James and Patricia McWilliams sold the house to the Irvington Presbyterian Church, who demolished the entire property in 1964 for a parking lot. Throughout the demolition, workers would place pocket doors and other architectural features along Audubon Road with price tags on the salvage. It was a staggering loss for the neighborhood.
More stories and photos about this property will be posted so stay tuned. The historic images and stories are courtesy of Jerry McWilliams.
|28 South Audubon Road in 1946|
|Ellen McWilliams rides her tricycle in front of 28 South Audubon Road in 1953|
|Group shot of the McWilliams family in 1958: Richard, Joe, Ken, Jerry (driving), Ellen, and Ed in the backyard of 28 South Audubon Road|